School Board Election

Theron Luett and Catherine Reiher

On November 2nd, 2021, the Johnston community voted for 3 School Board candidates who will serve a four-year term. The candidates consisted of Justin Allen (former President of the board), Deb Davis, Clint Evans, Dr. Jeanie Kerber (former Vice President of the board), Tiara Mays, Derek Tidball, and Lya Williams. Polls were open for voters 18 years and older from 7 AM-8 PM. The election results brought 3 new board members to lead the JCSD The newly elected school board members consist of Deb Davis, Clint Evans, and Derek Tidball, they join Soneeta Mangra-Dutcher, Jennifer Chamberland, Dr. Alicia Clevenger, and Katie Fiala who were not up for re-election.  The three new candidates ran on a platform of promoting parental voices in the district and examining the curriculum. All three members were endorsed by the 1776 action group who pledges to “restore honest, patriotic education”.